Languages

Swedish language update

It’s been about three weeks since I decided to tackle the Swedish language. So far it’s going pretty well. Slowly, but well. I don’t mind at all – I’m not trying to become fluent in three months, or six months, or twelve months. I’m just going to spend as long as it takes and not try to rush through anything.

What I’ve been doing

Image courtesy of Christopher Neugebaue on Flickr

Image courtesy of Christopher Neugebaue on Flickr

I haven’t happened across any Swedish textbooks locally (not that I really expected to), so I’m not sure how much of what I’ve done you could call ‘study’. I’ll grab one online in the next few weeks – maybe with any Christmas money I may receive.

I’ve been keeping a record of how much time I’ve spent doing different activities. In the last 23 days I’ve spent 28 hours listening to audio books and podcasts, ‘read’ 27000 words, watched 6 hours of tv shows and entered almost 300 words into Anki.

I say ‘read’ because there’s so much that I obviously don’t know yet. But by following along with the written book while listening to the audio I’m getting an idea of how the language sounds compared to how it looks.

One thing I have been doing that I think is helping is before I begin a chapter I find the most frequent words in that chapter. If I know the meaning, great. If not, I do one of two things. Either I look them up beforehand and give myself a better idea as I’m reading or I wait to see if I can figure it out as I go. I’ll probably continue to use both methods together.

There are several websites that have been helpful as well. I’m planning on compiling them all together and I’ll share them with you all shortly.

With Christmas coming up I’ll be going home for a week so with all the moving around and family stuff going on I’m not sure how much I’ll be able to do for the next little while. I’ll keep up as much as I can and dive back into it all in the new year.

How’s your language learning going lately? And how will you fit it all in over the holidays? I’d love to know any tips you have.

2 thoughts on “Swedish language update

  1. This is my favorite part of your post: “I’m not trying to become fluent in three months, or six months, or twelve months. I’m just going to spend as long as it takes and not try to rush through anything.”

    Good for you for having that attitude. Too many people try to rush through language learning even though there is no replacement for simply being exposed to the language consistently for a considerable period of time.

    As for language learning over the holidays, I’ve always managed to get a lot of reading done. Even while visiting family and stuff like that, I usually have some time to myself in the evening when I can just relax and read a book in the foreign language of my choice. I listen to podcasts a lot, so earphones are also essential at this time of year, as my family doesn’t usually want to be bombarded with random Russian news all the time!

Leave a Reply

